When Pip Met Irene Adler; A flashback of my life

Books and television can influence the feeble mind. The effect will be fatal when they did not recognise their lives are influenced in a wrong way.  That was happened in my case, reading a lot of motivational books and unrealistic hopes and targets made my life a failure in many ways. I had a bad habit of comparing people with the characters I read in novels or stories. In one of my lonely travels I found this woman, whom I thought as the herald of next generation feminism and I look at her with admiration while she get the better off many by her smart thoughts. That remind me of Irene Adler, and I was unaware of her ways.

Practical life wisdom is a special thing very few possess. No amount of collage or learning can equal to the innate life’s smart wisdom. Everybody has that but not everybody is aware of or knows the ways to use that. Mindful living is a gift. That is achieved only by the disciplined minds. People function in wide variety of ways, thoughts processes are almost similar in patterns. Once you aware of that patterns you can easily predict the way how others will think and act next. That was my believe and I was fool enough to think that I knew these patterns. Thus I paved the way for my own doom.

Irene Adler is Tough, intensely intelligent, and very much aware of her sexuality. Her ways and thinking pattern are mysterious and dynamic. No man of poor intelligence like me is going to be saved from her. Doyle writes through Watson that to Sherlock Holmes Irene Adler is “the woman” who “…eclipses and predominates the whole of her sex.” This is due to Irene Adler being the one person who beat him and it is by “a woman’s wit.” There are times they can go merciless, though they are not essentially cruel. They are the minds that mastered practical wisdom. I like to call Irene a Femme Fatale and Pip a Damsel in Distress. Pip in his dreaming and false hopes is having some traits of woman.  

Victoria Lynn Schmidt in her book, 45 Master Characters: Mythic Models for Creating Original Characters, outlines the femme fatale. Two main characteristics that Irene Adler in the television adaptation shares with those Schmidt outlines are her use of her body as a weapon and her ability to deliberately manipulate others with her sexual promises. (https://the-artifice.com/irene-adler-forever-feminist/)

Irene Adler is different from the typical femme fatale (calling in all third wave feminists). In the original text the woman was strong because of her essential female qualities defeating Sherlock Holmes. The female essence is what supports the femme fatale, for stereotypically a woman is physically weak and the only weapon at her disposal is her power to manipulate men sexually. Although the 2012 Irene Adler carries this in her character she is not left defenseless without her ‘womanly ways.’ Male characters on the other hand are manipulative and physically intimidating. Irene Adler comes in joining in on the manipulation and intimidation not as a woman, but as another central character in the plot. Of course, she cannot be Wonder Woman and Sherlock cannot be Superman. They each along the lines of third wave feminism have equal amounts of strengths and weaknesses. (https://the-artifice.com/irene-adler-forever-feminist/)

Pip is a tragic character by the measures of a competitive world. However Pip is very genuine and kind hearted. More or less, I was like Pip with some characteristics of Don Quixote. So when I met this Irene with high motivation I couldn’t guess the evil in disguise. However that taught me a lesson, Life is always an ongoing lesson. Be open to it and learn from everything.  

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.